Mixwit Remembered

For all those who want to take a trip back down memory lane with us, here are a few tokens of Mixwit history. First, a wonderful demo video created by Molly McDonald over at demogirl.com:

We launched just a week previous so Mixwit was a bit rough around the edges when Molly’s screencast was taken, but despite my embarrassment over that little spinny clock, it still captures the essence of Mixwit 🙂

In a less than nine months 90,194 mixtapes were created and at our peak millions of people were seeing your mixtapes every month on our site and throughout the web via our widgets.

From our launch to death the press was also very kind to us. We were covered by techcrunch (not once, not twice, but three times), webware (twice), cnet, mashable, the la times, techdirt, paidcontent, wired, and 100s of other smaller blogs and publications that would take me days to list. We even got our 15 minutes of fame in France with a spot on a popular morning show.

The best part of running Mixwit though was all of wonderful individual comments, tweets, videos, and feedback emails. Here are a few of my personal favorites:

I’m telling you, it’s spreading like a disease here at work. A bunch of us have been rendered ineffective this week and are instead dedicated to the newly formed “Mix Tape Club.”

I love the site. It has brought my brother and I closer together though we are over 1,000 miles away. Thank you. Mixwit Inc.

Oh my god. It’s a good thing I don’t really have anything I need to get done today cuz I will probably spend the rest of the day playing with this. Amazing!

Although the Mixwit site is dead, it partly lives on through an open source project we created based on the the Mixwit mixtape widget called mixwidget.org.

Thanks everyone for making Mixwit so great! Keep an eye on our new startup cloud.tv. We’ll be making some exciting announcements over the next few months!