All good things…

We regret to announce that Mixwit will cease to exist at the end of the year. The website and profiles will be turned off around Dec 21st Dec 27th and all embedded widgets will stop playing before the end of December.

We’ve put a year of work into Mixwit so this choice wasn’t taken lightly. I won’t go into the details of our situation but state simply that we boldly marched into in a position best described as “between rock and a hard place.” We’re very grateful to be have been part of the mixtape revival of ’08 and are satisfied to be able to to bow out while things are still good.

You guys are all amazing. It’s clear that all of you put a ton of time and effort into your mixes. For me personally, I was looking forward to all of the designs people created for their tapes. There was a lot of basic tapes and many lovely photos, but the designs and artwork – WOW!

We’re very sorry that this has to end. We’re going to try to figure out some way to archive the artwork and playlists, if for nothing at least historic value. As for now, everything needs to be shut down by the end of the year just to make sure we’ve got a clean start for 2009.

We’ll return early next year with a new company and new toys. Until then, enjoy the holidays and please take good care of yourselves, your families, and your friends =)

48 comments so far

  1. Paul Demers on

    So sad to see this service go. It was always great to see other people’s mixes. Can’t wait to see what you guys have in store… Be well.

  2. James on

    As above, I’m sad to see this service go. I don’t suppose you’d consider resurrecting something so that musicians could use your tapes/players on their own websites?

    I use mixwit for a couple of bands I work with – we host the artists songs (which they own) on our on webspace and just use the interface because it looks really cool…it’d be great to be able to keep doing this in some capacity.

  3. Nickie on

    This is really sad news :( Mixwit is such a great service that facilitates learning new music in a meaningful way. Look forward to see the form your innovation takes!

  4. John on

    Is ‘between rock and a hard place’ the same place that muxtape.com was at a few mths back?

  5. Steve on

    You should open source the code, perhaps it could live another day? :) Best of luck.

  6. alisa on

    a friend told me your site was ending and i immediately shuddered at the thought of a mixwit-less future. Mixwit has revolutionized the way i share and discover music; I’m now a savvy music gal, which i’ve never been in my life. Please tell me there will be something similar next year???

  7. […] подгрузить фотки, музыку, и создать онлайн-слайд-шоу, закрывает двери. Стартап был профинансирован YCombinator. Posted in Silicon Valley, […]

  8. jacqui on

    I am SO sad….hopefully something will change with whatever situation is going on and everyone can at least keep their mixes??? :( If anyone has any other sites like mix wit let me know jwest2@upenn.edu

  9. […] I found out that Mixwit, a site that allows you to make digital mix tapes, is closing its doors by December 21 2008. We regret to announce that Mixwit will cease to exist at the end of the […]

  10. Liss on

    so sad, I mad so many nice mixes too!!!

  11. Erdem on

    It’s so so so so sad news. You made me remember the old times guys, hope to meet you someplace else. Take care.

  12. Leonard on

    But could you share source code of you player (fla)? If so we could save our mixes on our sites.

  13. alala on

    Hey, so sorry to hear that, after all the work you guys put in. I hope next year brings you great things. Be well.

  14. irdial on

    I would have paid for Mixwit had you asked. You guys are brilliant developers, and you did everything right. This really is bad news.

    I hope that you do not look on the closing of Mixwit as any kind of failure. You took an idea and made an innovative, simple to use best of class tool; not many people are capable of that.

    In a perfect world, record companies would have supported you, but this is not a perfect world, and the music business is staffed and run by the scum of the earth; people without imagination or any idea about the revolution that is solidifying around them.

    I hope you find a way for people to bottle up their mixes to keep as souvenirs…thats what mixtapes were…ironic!

  15. […] playlist site, was forced to close by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Now mixwit have announced that is is closing too. The only explanation offered was as follows: We’ve put a year of work into Mixwit so this choice […]

  16. stubbornmule on

    Damn the RIAA and all their works!

  17. Belinda on

    Thanks for all your hard work, I’ve loved using mixwit and lots of fun making and sharing mixes.
    I’m sorry you had to shut down, but I wish all the best for your new projects!!!

  18. piazzamanin on

    keep up the good work! we collectively look forward to your nex toys, people

  19. houseofleaves on

    …I have over seventy mixtapes; will there be any record kept of them/the playlists? I’m incredibly upset and angered by this news (not that it’s in any way your guys’ fault!). Why do sites like Last.fm survive but not mixtape sites? I don’t understand.

  20. […] up the old-fashioned tape with a cool cover. Last night, founders Radley and Mike sent the following email to its users: We regret to announce that Mixwit will cease to exist at the end of the year. [..] […]

  21. Jernej on

    wow, thats the worst christmas present this year! :( I’m realy sorry to hear that guys! Archive would be great to have as I see Mixwit as a cult application… It was realy good accepted here in Slovenia (http://mixwit.com/smetnjak)!

  22. Nacho on

    what a pity!!! :-(

    Well, I suppose it has to be like that… Thank you for all the good moments we’ve had because of you, for putting so many effort in this great web. It Would be great if you find a way to save the playlist and designs, I’ll try to make screen captures of the mixes I heard most. And please, any other activities you developed just let me know. If it’s as cool as mixwit, I’ll be interested for sure

    Thanks again from Spain, guys

  23. José Maria on

    Eu lamento esta decisão!Deus abençõe na sua nova caminhada!Obrigado por tudo!!!

  24. aye on

    this is so sad! mixwit offered us the option to express our music taste in a way that any website could do!
    thanks from Argentina.

  25. Jill on

    Aw, Mixwit! I am saddened by this news. You’ve been a great service. Thanks for the good times.

  26. QueenB on

    Ohhhhhhhh what a sad day in my world today!!! :( Whoever is making you shut down are assholes. I listen to my mixes EVERY single day…I promise you. You are number 1 above all else – lastfm, pandora, blipfm…..i listen to YOU!!!!!!!!!! Hang in there and hopefully those bitchez will burn in hell!! Keep Rockin’ guys!!

  27. Kochi Koo on

    NOOOOO!!!

  28. […] a blog post announcing the imminent closure, Mixwit does not specifically mention any legal action by the RIAA, […]

  29. […] just reported that yet another online music sharing service, Mixwit, is going out of […]

  30. Roger on

    This is really sad. You guys did such great work and I loved sharing music with people and finding new bands. I know for a fact that people bought CDs thanks to finding music on my mixes. The RIAA really just doesn’t get it.

  31. Des Traynor on

    Guys, I’m really sorry for you.

    You did an amazing job, and you should be proud. Some things just can’t work out, but none the less, you should all be very proud of what you’ve created. Congratulations.

    And I can’t wait to see what the future holds for you. It’s gonna rock.
    Feel free to keep my email address and let me know.

    Des

  32. Nina on

    I’ve really loved playing with this. Thanks so much, it was good timing for me in my life. I will miss you mixwit! Hopefully the business end of the music industry will catch up with technology…

  33. jackie on

    this is such a shame! i really love this site and have been having to much fun getting to share music through it.

    is there any way that members of your current site might get notified if/when you start on a new project?

  34. Isabelly on

    noooooooooooooooooooo =~~

  35. lola on

    my favorite website. I use mixwit everyday and it’s become my work-companion. very sad news. love from costa rica.

  36. Marga Fuentes on

    Oooooooohhhhhhhh nooooooooo!
    No puede ser!
    Son fantásticos y he podido hacer una página con muchas canciones que las ven de todas partes del mundo. Me ha costado mucho dinero mandar limpiar las grabaciones hechas hace años. Por favor, dénnos una solución.
    Es una noticia terrible para los que usamos Mixwit.
    Gracias por todo igual.
    Marga de Madrid-Spain

  37. paola on

    Silly, silly, SILLY record companies. I’ve discovered and BOUGHT so many new tracks after finding Mixwit…

  38. […] man hier nachlesen kann, wird der Service ab dem 27.12.2008 komplett eingestellt. Also keine Mixtapes mehr. […]

  39. Keith Jopling on

    As with Muxtape, I’ll need to add this to the analysis of why this keeps on happening – see the post on my blog Juggernaut Brew here…

    http://juggernautbrew.blogspot.com/2008/12/reflections-on-2008-1-musics-big.html

  40. AmyAnne on

    So sad. Thanks for an amazing application.

    When the music industry understands their customer base they will be knocking on your door.

    I’ll be looking for your next project.

  41. Liz on

    Loved loved loved this fantastic mixtape service! Thanks for all of the great work on this project and I hope you end up donating your code after all. I’ve already started researching alternatives and so far, I’m not too impressed with what’s out here.

    But I’m glad you are working on other projects – can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

  42. atallah al sharif on

    If there is a problem the site (mixwit.com )Legal
    I’m ready to buy the site of this
    Please attention
    Wait you reply pot

  43. Raquel on

    Try contact with ionaudio.com. They are putting in place devices that convert cassete, vinil and other vintege medias in mp3.
    Regard,
    Balceiro.

  44. Manga on

    […]Thanks for sharing your work with us! Your theme is just awesome![…]

  45. Imphenzia on

    A shame to see your site go. I also think sites like this one boosts the interest in music and by making it easily accessible I’ve found that many fans decide to purchase my albums TO SUPPORT even if my tracks can be downloaded and/or streamed. My site is http://www.imphenzia.com and I can also be found on soundclick and last.fm etc :)

    Looking forward to your new project.

  46. Arianny on

    I want ti create an acont but i dont know how! S:

  47. […] With an outstanding margin, and a business model with an extremely low and stable fixed-cost component,  which departs from traditional and currently-popular web approaches, Poligo is proving itself to be as potentially profitable as we expected. This is particularly good news in a climate where many start-ups are put out to pasture, being absorbed for bargain prices, or giving up the ghost altogether. […]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

